Skip to content

Search Prisma Health

Looking for a doctor? Try our Find a Doctor search.

Get COVID-19 updates | COVID-19 Vaccine

Nursing at Prisma Health Richland Hospital

Why choose to be a nurse at Richland?

At Prisma Health Richland Hospital, our nurses deliver care through our unique nursing professional practice model. This model supports the registered nurse’s control over the delivery of nursing care and the environment in which care is delivered.

Professional Practice Model

A Professional Practice Model (PPM) is a schematic rendering of a theory, phenomenon or system that depicts how nurses practice, collaborate, communicate, and develop professionally. It is designed to support their control over the delivery of nursing care and the environment in which that care is delivered. These models are centered on the caring relationship between nurses and patients. 

A PPM is the driving force of nursing practice; it “connects the dots” between professional concepts and practice. Each campus of Prisma Health has adopted a PPM that displays the components that the nurses in that hospital value most. 

Our model is focused on the patient and family by the following six actions:
  • We provide safe, high-quality patient-centered care.
  • We collaborate with all disciplines.
  • We use evidence-based practice.
  • We distinguish ourselves as professionals.
  • We are driven to improve patient outcomes.
  • We have a voice through shared decision making.

Nursing annual reports

Fiscal Year 2020 Annual Report

Professional development

Clinical Ladder Program

Prisma Health provides a Clinical Ladder Program that supports the nursing strategic plan, specific to recruitment and retention of registered nurses, professional growth and development, and supports quality care. The ladder recognizes clinical excellence for bedside practice, enhances employee satisfaction and validates professional nursing activity representative of Magnet® concepts of nursing excellence. The program encompasses knowledge, skill/practice development (based on Benner’s model “Novice to Expert”), professional development and organizational achievement.

The program is based upon four levels:

  • Level 1 is based on a new hire, novice, or advanced beginner stage of development.
  • Level 2 is based on a competent stage of development.
  • Level 3 reflects a proficient stage of development.
  • Level 4 reflects an expert stage of development.

Nurses achieving advancement on the ladder receive a financial incentive based on the level achieved in the ladder. The first participants to the new CLP program began submitting portfolios in January 2020 with ongoing quarterly submissions thereafter.

The CLP replaced the legacy ASCEND program at Richland Hospital.

Current CLP Participants
  • Nancy Ashley, RN, The Family Birthplace – Level IV
  • Georgia Altus, RN, MICU – Level IV
  • Abigail Roulston, RN, MICU – Level IV


Shared governance at Prisma Health Richland Hospital

Nursing Shared Governance provides the structure that enables professional clinicians to own their practice and the outcomes of their work. In its simplest form, shared governance is defined as shared decision-making by frontline professionals and leaders, and is based on the principles of partnership, equity, accountability and ownership. Through this structure, all team members have a key role in fulfilling the purpose of the organization.

Shared governance starts at the campus level with clinical nurses on each unit making decisions on their Unit Councils. Chairs from these councils sit on the Campus and System Councils and the flow of work and information is bi-directional from the clinical bedside nurse to the Chief Nursing Officer.

Nursing recognition

At Prisma Health Richland Hospital, we love our nursing team members and want to see them shine. Here are some of the ways we recognize our nurses.